Token - Kutná Hora ND front Token - Kutná Hora ND back
Token - Kutná Hora ND photo
© Anumis

Token - Kutná Hora ND

 
Brass 12.1 g 30.5 mm
Description
Location
Czech Republic
Type
Medals › Souvenir medallions
Composition
Brass
Weight
12.1 g
Diameter
30.5 mm
Thickness
2.5 mm
Shape
Round
Technique
Milled
Orientation
Medal alignment ↑↑
Updated
2024-11-12
References
Numista
N#149849
Rarity index
91%

Reverse

Coat of arms.

Script: Latin

Lettering: KUTNÁ HORA

Edge

Plain

Comment

http://cmqc.it/en/catalog/coins/towns/kutna-hora

 

     Kutná Hora - the historical town centre ranks among European architectural jewels, the medieval town core together with St. Barbara's Cathedral and the Cathedral of Assumption of Our Lady in Sedlec were inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO in 1995. The glorious and prosperous times of Kutná Hora - with sovereigns residing often in town, immense volumes of silver extracted from local mines and daily piles of coins - are definitely over, however, history breathes from all corners, houses and crooked lanes…

 

     St. Barbara's Cathedral - a unique work of peak and late Gothic architecture, its construction was started in 1388 by Petr Parler's smelting work-shop. Construction was interrupted several times and the monumental Cathedral was finally completed, after more then 500 years of building, in 1905. In some chapels late Gothic murals with mining themes are preserved, the most prized of which can be found in Smisek's Chapel.

 

     Italian Court - originally the Central Mint, it was named after the Italian experts who were at the forefront of the minting reform. The main are of the mint consisted of coin-makers workshops, called Smithies, which were located around the courtyard and the minting chamber called the “Preghaus”, where the Prague groschen were struck. After its reconstruction at the end of the 14th century, the Italian Court became part-time royal residence.

 

     Cathedral of the Assumption of Our Lady - the first Cistercian Monastery in our region was founded in 1142 in Sedlec. The convent church was built between 1282 - 1320 as a Cathedral, with a gallery and a surrounding ring of Chapels. It was burnt down during the Hussite Wars and rebuilt at the turn of the 17th and 18th centuries by the prominent master builder of Czech Baroque, Jan Blazej Santini. It also holds valuable altar paintings by Petr Brandl.